Schweighofer Prize 2011 presented in Vienna Innovative wood-based solutions for energy efficient buildings and renewable energy awarded



SCHWEIGHOFER PRIZE 2011

On 16 June 2011 Schweighofer Prize, the unique European Innovation Award for the Forest-Based Sector, endowed with € 300.000 was awarded for the 5th time in Vienna. About 450 guests from 20 nations - most notably the Austrian Federal Minister for Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management, DI Niki Berlakovich - celebrated four Innovation Prize winning teams and the prominent Main Prize winner. The ceremony was dedicated to the International Year of the Forests and highlighted by a musical tribute to the woods.

The Schweighofer Prize was funded in 2002 by the Austrian Schweighofer family owning one of Europe's leading woodworking companies. It is presented biannually focussing on innovative approaches for the Forest Based Sector. It is divided in one Main Prize (Life Time Award) and several Innovation Prizes.

Main Prize winner 2011 is Dieter Siempelkamp from Germany. His name and correspondent company is a worldwide synonym for high class engineering. The most revolutionary development of Siempelkamp is the continuous press Contiroll®. He receives € 100,000. www.siempelkamp.de

Four Innovation Prize winning teams equally share € 200,000:

- AGEPAN® THD Static: Insulating fibre board with remarkable strength properties. Knut Kappenberg and Alfred Pfemeter (Glunz AG) Germany www.agepan.de
- TES Energy Façade: Timber-based renovation system for buildings. European scientists team coordinated by Frank Lattke, Germany www.tesenergyfacade.com
- Hess Limitless: Technology for fabrication and on-site assembling of long-span glulam beams.
 Mathias Hofmann (Hess Timber) and Simon Aicher (MPA Stuttgart), Germany
 www.hess-imber.com
- Glulam Turbine Blades: Blades made of glulam for floating tidal power plants. Åge Holmestad (Moelven) and Svein Dag Henriksen (Hydra Tidal), Norway www.moelven.com; www.hydratidal.com

Photos can be downloaded here: http://www.apa-fotoservice.at/galerie/1952

Contact: Dr. Margareta Patzelt

SPB Beteiligungsverwaltung GmbH

Tel.: 0043 1 585 68 62 28 info@schweighofer-prize.org www.schweighofer-prize.org